;# Musical Memories
6:00 PM ;# May 26, 2004

I remember when I was about four years old; my mother brought home some videos from Blockbuster. She set down two videos on the table, entitled Camelot and Oklahoma!

I had never heard of them, I was only four. I put my finger on Camelot, and my mother put in them in the VCR, and the outstanding overture of Lerner and Loewe�s played to my heart. I saw the many scenes, and when I heard the Finale�, I was singing along. My Mother was also, we were smiling, I was laughing. Camelot finished, and my mother stuck in Oklahoma! By then, I was on my feet, jumping at the second verse of �The Surrey With the Fringe on Top�.

When I was six, my mother explained the universal happiness of musicals. She said, �There are two musical-ists that deprive in our family. On your father�s side, it�s Rodgers and Hammerstien. On my side, It�s Lerner and Loewe. Lili, be completely obsessed with musicals.� I nodded, a six year old nod.

Continuing life, my mom took me to atleast three musicals a year, at the Fox Theatre. Then, we moved to Saint Lucia. I only lived there for probably two months, and I took a train with my older brother, Pat, to New York. Broadway.

You see how much I�ve progressed in these things?!

last ;# next